Central University of Kerala

Central University of Kerala Schools Earth Science Systems Department of Geology

Developed in conjunction with Joomla extensions.

 The Department of Geology was established in Central University of Kerala under the School of Earth Science Systems during August 2016. Presently department has intake capacity of 20 and runs the credit based course of M.Sc. Geology. At present the department has four faculty members specialised in different areas of Geology such as petrology, geochemistry, structural geology, Quaternary palaeoclimate, micropaleontology, environmental magnetism, palaeomagnetism, remote sensing and GIS. The faculty members are actively engaged in research in these thrust areas.

The Department of Geology is in the process of upgrading its facilities and developing new laboratories. The department is committed to produce future geologists and geo-scientists with academic excellence. The curriculum includes contents from syllabus of various competitive examinations such as UGC-CSIR NET and UPSC geologists and GATE.It also includes recent innovations and practices adopted by the industry especially in the fields of petroleum exploration, geo-technical, energy and mineral exploration. The curriculum of M.Sc. Geology Programme contains extensive field work, geological mapping, mine visits and it is designed in such a way that it is easier for the students to adapt in the role of professional geologists and geo-scientists.


Make sure you dont miss interesting happenings by joining our newsletter program.

Contact Details

Central University of Kerala Schools Earth Science Systems Department of Geology